Stoppage Time – International Football Blog

UEFA: Europa League Group Stage draw

Posted in European Football by peterbein on August 27, 2010
Atlético de Madrid

Atlético de Madrid are the UEFA Europa League holders. Who will win in 2010-11?

After last season’s inaugural final the UEFA Europa League has made its mark on the European football scene after a thrilling 2009-10 final between English underdogs Fulham FC and eventual champions Atlético de Madrid. The Rojiblancos finally claimed a second major European triumph after having waited 48 years since their European Cup Winners’ Cup triumph of the 1961-62 season and now have their sights on reclaiming the trophy as they qualified automatically for this season’s group stages as defending title holders. Fulham FC may not be participating in this season’s tournament but the coach who took them to Hamburg, Roy Hodgson, will be trying again as coach of Liverpool FC who have won this trophy three times in its previous guise of the UEFA Cup. The group stage draw for the 2010-11 UEFA Europa League took place in Monte Carlo today ahead of tonight’s UEFA Super Cup final and there are some interesting match-ups waiting to happen in this tournament which climaxes in the new Aviva Stadium, Dublin on Wednesday, May 18th 2011:

GROUP A: Juventus (Italy); Manchester City (England); RB Salzburg (Austria); Lech Poznan (Poland)

GROUP B: Atlético de Madrid (Spain); Bayer Leverkusen (Germany); Rosenborg (Norway); Aris (Greece)

GROUP C: Sporting (Portugal); Lille OSC (France); Levski Sofia (Bulgaria); KAA Gent (Belgium)

GROUP D: Villarreal (Spain); Club Brugge (Belgium); Dinamo Zagreb (Croatia); PAOK (Greece)

GROUP E: AZ Alkmaar (Holland); Dynamo Kyiv (Ukraine); BATE Borisov (Belarus); FC Sheriff (Moldova)

GROUP F: CSKA Moscow (Russia); Palermo (Italy); Sparta Prague (Czech Republic); Lausanne (Switzerland)

GROUP G: Zenit St. Petersburg (Russia); Anderlecht (Belgium); AEK Athens (Greece); Hajduk Split (Croatia)

GROUP H: VfB Stuttgart (Germany); Getafe (Spain); Odense BK (Denmark); Young Boys (Switzerland)

GROUP I: PSV Eindhoven (Holland); Sampdoria (Italy); Metalist Kharkiv (Ukraine); Debreceni (Hungary)

GROUP J: Sevilla CF (Spain); Paris St. Germain (France); Borussia Dortmund (Germany); Karpaty Lviv (Ukraine)

GROUP K: Liverpool (England); Steaua Bucharest (Romania); Napoli (Italy); FC Utrecht (Holland)

GROUP L: FC Porto (Portugal); Besiktas (Turkey); CSKA Sofia (Bulgaria); Rapid Wien (Austria)

Tagged with:

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: