Stoppage Time – International Football Blog

FIFA: Hosts Mexico claim Under-17 trophy in style (+video)

Posted in International Football by peterbein on July 11, 2011

FIFA World U-17 Championship logoThe FIFA World Under-17 Championship has been won by hosts Mexico in what was a thrilling climax to a hugely successful tournament.

Mexico got to the final having topped Group A ahead of Congo, North Korea and European champions the Netherlands before getting past Panama, France and Germany in the knockout rounds. Uruguay came second in Group D behind England but managed to defeat Congo, Uzbekistan and neighbours Brazil en route to the final which was played in the Estadio Azteca on Sunday.

The mecca of Mexican football was crammed with 100,000 spectators which proved just how important it is for the local football fans to get to see the next generation of players to grace the shirt of El Tri. Antonio Briseño sent the home fans wild in the 31st  minute when turning the home from close range to give the hosts the lead. The game wasn’t settled until the second minute of stoppage time when Giovani Casillas held his nerve to slot the ball past Uruguayan keeper Jonathan Cubero to secure the game and the tournament for the Mexicans.

Not only did Mexico emerge triumphant from this competition but they shone in the individual awards too. Julio Gómez won the Golden Ball after winning the player of the tournament award whilst compatriots Jonathan Espericueta and Carlos Fierro won the Silver Ball and Bronze Ball respectively. Amongst the other significant awards in the tournament the Ivory Coast’s Souleymane Coulibany won the Golden Boot award after top scoring in this year’s competition with nine goals, the aforementioned Cubero won the Golden Glove award as the tournament’s best goalkeeper whilst the Japanese team went away with the Fair Play trophy.

Mexico are world champions at this level for the second time in their history following their previous triumph in the 2005 tournament held in Peru but they will still have to qualify for the next tournament which will be held in the United Arab Emirates in two years’ time. Only the host nation qualifies automatically for that tournament.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: