Stoppage Time – International Football Blog

Saudi Arabia: Opening day wins for the Big Two

Posted in Asian Football by peterbein on September 12, 2011

Al-Hilal logoSaudi Arabia’s domestic championship began this weekend with record champions Al-Hilal showing their mettle as they came from behind to defeat Hajer Club by two goals to one whilst Al-Ittihad warmed up for their forthcoming AFC Champions League clash with South Korean outfit FC Seoul with an exciting 5-3 triumph over Al Tawwun.

Al-Hilal won last season’s title going through the whole league campaign undefeated but when Hajer Club took the lead through Khalid Al-Rujaib on the stroke of half-time there was a worry that the opening to the new season would finish in an embarrassing defeat to a team who were promoted as First Division (2nd tier) champions last season. The old order was restored when Youssef Al-Arabi scored the equalizer just five minutes after the break with Al-Hilal, under the charge of new coach ex-Germany international Thomas Doll, able to take control of the situation midway through the second half when Al-Arabi scored his second of the game and give the champions a lead which they never relinquished.

Al-Ittihad logoAl-Ittihad have finished second in the league for the last two seasons because of the superior form of their arch-rivals from Al-Hilal. However they began the new campaign with a 5-3 win over Al-Tawwun who finished the 2010-11 season in a respectable 7th place.  Last season’s runners-up seemed to be coasting to victory going in with a 3-1 half-time lead but Al-Tawwun came back to level the scores with just fifteen minutes of the match remaining. However goals from Wendel and Fahad Al-Enezi provided Al-Ittihad with the cushion they were looking for and provided a much needed confidence boost ahead of their quarter-final, 1st leg fixture against FC Seoul in the AFC Champions League this Wednesday.

Tagged with: ,

FIFA Club World Cup preview

FIFA Club World Cup

Seven teams will fight it out in the UAE for the trophy

Love it or loathe it the FIFA Club World Cup is going to remain a staple part of the football calendar. To some observers it’s a chance to win a trophy and add more prestige to their club. To some others it’s a competition that turns up in the middle of a long hard season, getting in the way of domestic progress. Either way there will be seven teams in the United Arab Emirates from December 9-19 who will be giving everything to win the cup. Here is Stoppage Time’s guide to the participants:


FC Barcelona became European champions for the third time in May after beating Manchester United 2-0 in Rome. It is surprising that a massive club such as “Barça” has never won the FIFA Club World Cup or its predecessor, the Intercontinental Cup. After twice being crowned European champions in 1992 and 2006 the Catalans have been defeated by Brazilian clubs in their attempts to be crowned the world’s best. In 1992 a São Paulo side inspired by Rai beat Barça 2-1 and then, three years ago, Internacional scored a late goal to deny Barcelona again. This time the ‘Blaugrana’ hope to make it third time lucky in this tournament and add the FIFA Club World Cup to the other five trophies they’ve won under their coach Pep Guardiola.


Estudiantes won their fourth Copa Libertadores with a 2-1 victory over two legs against Brazilian side Cruzeiro. The Argentinian side had a mixed record in the Intercontinental Cup during their heyday in the late 1960s and early 70s. Their solo victory came in 1968 after a 2-1 aggregate win over Manchester United (before 1979 the champions of Europe and South America played home and away matches to win the cup). Their next two efforts, however, ended in failure; in 1969 Milan won 4-2 on aggregate and in 1970 Feyenoord Rotterdam claimed their only world title with a 3-2 aggregate win. Can Juan Sebastián Verón emulate his father Juan Ramón’s achievements and become a world champion with his boyhood club?


The Mexican side secured their second CONCACAF Champions League title after an all-Mexican affair with Cruz Azul ended up 2-0 after a two-legged final. Atlante’s other title win was back in 1983 when they defeated Surinam’s Robinhood FC (yes, really!) 6-1 over two legs. Atlante’s Club World Cup campaign will kick-off at the quarter-final stage against either Al Ahli or Auckland City, who meet in the first match of the competition.


The three time Asian champions have not always dominated the domestic scene in South Korea but tend to thrive in Asian club competition. After previous successes in 1997 and 1998, Pohang Steelers won a third title this year by defeating Al-Ittihad of Saudi Arabia 2-1 in Tokyo’s National Stadium. Pohang will play against TP Mazembe at the quarter-final stage, the winner of which faces Estudiantes in the semi-finals.


The Congolese side have been African champions on three occasions after their most recent success was decided on away goals against Nigerian team Heartlands FC. After the Nigerians won the first leg 2-1 at home, Mazembe won the second leg 1-0 to secure a passage to the Middle East. A meeting with Estudiantes de la Plata awaits if they can overcome Pohang Steelers in the quarter-final.


The New Zealanders will be participating in the FIFA Club World Cup for a second time, after their previous appearance in 2006, following their 9-4 win over Soloman Islands’ club Koloale FC in the two-legged OFC Champions League final. In 2006 Auckland City lost in the opening play-off match to Al Ahly of Egypt 2-0. Can they avoid a repeat against a similarly named Al Ahli of UAE in this year’s tournament?


Representing the host country in this year’s tournament, Al Ahli have never been Asian champions but are the current UAE League champions after winning the title by one point from nearest challengers Al Jazira Club. Last season’s attempt at continental glory came to an end in the group phase of the AFC Champions League competition. Will meet Atlante CF in the quarter-final if they beat Auckland City in the play-off match.