Stoppage Time – International Football Blog

South Korea: FC Seoul win K-League Championship

Posted in Asian Football by peterbein on December 5, 2010

K-League trophyFC Seoul have won the 2010 K-League championship following a 4-3 aggregate victory in the final and means that they have won their fourth league title following triumphs in 1985, 1990 and 2000.

With both teams going into the second leg of the final having drawn the first game 2-2 the stakes were high as the K-League reached its climax for yet another season. Jeju United, who were the away team in the second leg, took the lead after 29 minutes thanks in no small part to a goalkeeping error from Kim Yong-Dae, allowing Brazilian Santos Junior to pounce and give United the lead. Just as Jeju had got on the board it was the turn of the home team to level things out again as a penalty from Jo-Gook Jung made the score 1-1 just sixty seconds later.

The game was decided in the capital club’s favour in the 74th minute as Brazilian Adilson headed home to give FC Seoul the league title and secure the club’s second trophy this season. FC Seoul’s Portuguese coach Nelo Vingada has won the K-League and the K-League Cup double in his first season in charge and he can now look forward to taking his team into next season’s AFC Champions League. For Jeju United it’s a case of what might have been as they finished second for the fourth time in the club’s history but they do have the consolation of joining the champions in Asian football’s top club competition next season.

Tagged with: , ,

J-League and K-League champions signal the old and the new

Posted in Asian Football by peterbein on December 7, 2009
Kashima Antlers

Kashima Antlers have secured their third straight J-League title

Two major championships concluded in Asia this weekend, one championship congratulating a team who have turned winning into an art form on the domestic stage, the other congratulating a club who have finally landed their maiden national title.

Kashima Antlers were crowned champions of Japan this weekend securing a third straight title courtesy of a 1-0 win away at Urawa Red Diamonds. Shinko Koroki’s goal in the 66th minute proved enough as the Antlers finished two points clear of Kawasaki Frontale, whose 3-2 victory away to Kashiwa Reysol ultimately proved fruitless. Kashima cement their place as the most successful club in the J-League era as they have won the J-League championship seven times since its formation in 1993. At the bottom of the table JEF United, Oita Trinita and Kashiwa Reysol were relegated and they’ll be replaced in 2010 by Vegalta Sandai, Cerezo Osaka and Shonan Bellmare.

Things were different in South Korea where the K-League saw Jeonbuk Hyandai Motors lift their first ever league championship trophy. Jeonbuk had already clinched the regular league title finishing four points ahead of FIFA Club World Cup participants Pohang Steelers and FC Seoul. Following the regular season a play-off series was contested, Jeonbuk’s prize for finishing first in the regular table was a bye into the final. Five teams entering at various rounds were hoping to contest Jeonbuk in the final and, after three rounds, it was Seongnam Ilhwa Chunma, who had finished fourth in the regular season, who were to be the lucky opponents with a shot at title glory. After the first leg of the final had finished in a goalless draw, Jeonbuk took no prisoners in the second match played at their home stadium in Jeonju. Eninho scored the first goal of the game after 21 minutes to set them on their way. After the Brazilian scored his second just before half-time, former South Korean international Lee Dong-Gook confirmed the match with a 72nd minute penalty for Jeonbuk to seal the deal, Seongnam getting a consolation goal through Kim Jin-Yong in the 84th minute.